Feb 25, 2011

Three Hokie Women's Soccer players named to ACC All-Academic team

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Three members of the Virginia Tech women’s soccer team were named to the ACC All-Academic women's soccer team, which was announced by conference commissioner John Swofford on Thursday morning. Senior Jennifer Harvey, junior Brittany Michels and freshman Dayle Colpitts were all honored by the conference for their performance in the classroom and on the field this year. Maryland's Caitlin McDowell was named the conference's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Harvey earns the conference accolades for the third time in her career after recently being awarded the ACC’s Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarship. The Roanoke, Va., native was named an ESPN Academic All-American earlier this year, and was named to the CoSIDA/ ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District III for the third time after the completion of her senior season. Harvey wrapped up her collegiate career tied for first all-time at Tech, playing in 86 career games, and second, making 84 career starts. A chemistry major, Harvey’s team-leading six goals in her final season helped her into seventh place all-time at Tech with 18 career goals, while her 15 points brought her career total to 44, good for 10th all-time.
Michels, a Virginia Beach, Va., native is honored for her academic performance for the second-straight year. The apparel, housing and resource management major has been a staple on the Hokie defense over the last two seasons but has also had opportunities to contribute on offense as well. Michels scored one goal and assisted another this year, good for three points, while also assisting her keeper in earning four shut outs.
Colpitts, who hails from Fredericton, New Bruswick, Canada, made her mark at Tech in her collegiate premiere, as she has already put her name in the all-time record books. Her 1,913 minutes is good for seventh all-time, while her four shutouts and 10 wins rank her seventh and fifth, respectively. Colpitts, a biology major, was also named the ACC All-Freshman team after the 2010 season.