Jan 28, 2013

W-League divisional alignment released, Impact and Piranhas in Northeast Division

TAMPA, Fla. – The W-League released its divisional alignment and schedule for 2013 today, with the action slated to kick off for the 145-game regular season on Saturday, May 11.  The Bay Area Breeze join the 25-team league in 2013, further strengthening the highly competitive Western Conference. 

W-League2013_Schedule12813.jpg“The 2013 W-League season will produce a tremendous amount of excitement for players and fans alike,” said Amanda Duffy, senior director of the W-League.  “Top collegiate, amateur and professional players will compete in the W-League while aspiring to reach the top level of women’s soccer in North America. The competition will continue to be enhanced by additional regional rivalries as the fight for post-season spots intensifies.”

The W-League remains divided into three geographic conferences – Eastern, Central and Western – with the Eastern Conference featuring two divisions, the seven-team Northeast and the five-team Southeast.  The Central Conference features six teams, while the Western Conference has seven. W-League clubs will play 10- or 12-game schedules in 2013, with teams facing each opponent in their division home and away. Teams in the Central Conference and Southeast Division will play additional games vs. geographic rivals to complete their schedules.

Five W-League teams have undergone name changes for 2013, including the Carolina Elite Cobras (formerly Central SC Cobras), K-W United FC (Hamilton FC Rage), New York Magic – F.A. Euro (New York Magic), VSI Tampa Bay FC (VSI Tampa Flames) and the Washington Spirit Reserves (D.C. United Women).

Eastern Conference

Northeast Division
Fredericksburg Impact
Long Island Rough Riders
New Jersey Wildcats
New York Magic – F.A. Euro
North Jersey Valkyries
Virginia Beach Piranhas
Washington Spirit Reserves