Jan 25, 2013

Six former D.C. United players are National Soccer Hall of Fame 2013 class nominees

Today U.S. Soccer released the full list of eligible players that can be voted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame as part of the 2013 class.

Six of the 22 players nominated have played for D.C. United during their soccer careers. Raul Diaz Arce (1996/97, 2000/01), Marco Etcheverry (1996-2003), Roy Lassiter (1998/99, 2002), Tony Sanneh (1996-98), and current United head coach Ben Olsen (1998-2009).

Other notable players include former William & Mary left back, Wade Barrett (1994-97) and UVA midfielder, Angela Hucles (1996-99).