Jan 11, 2013

NWSL Player Allocation announced, Washington Spirit player list revealed

Today US Soccer officially announced the National team player allocations for all eight of the clubs in the newly formed National Women's Soccer League. 

NWSL Announces Allocation of 55 National Team Players to Eight Clubs

The list of US National Team players allocated for the Washington Spirit is below:

Washington Spirit
Ashlyn Harris (USA)
Ali Krieger (USA)
Lori Lindsey (USA)
Robin Gayle (CAN)
Diana Matheson (CAN)
Alina Garciamendez (MEX)
Teresa Worbis (MEX)

Other notable players allocated to other league teams include FIFA Women's Player of the Year winner Abby Wambach (Western New York Flash), FIFA Women's Player of the Year nominee Alex Morgan (Portland Thorns FC), and often controversial goalkeeper Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC).