Apr 19, 2012

Reyna, Meola & Armstrong Represent DMV in 2012 Hall of Fame Class

At the University of Virginia, Claudio Reyna lead the Cavaliers to three straight NCAA Championship. The UVA men where crowned champions each of year of Reyna's college career, a college career in which he was coached by National Soccer Hall of Famer Bruce Arena. Now Reyna will get to join his former coach once again as he has been named to the Class of 2012 Hall of Fame class that will be inducted in Landover, Md. next month.

Joining Reyna in this years Hall of Fame group will be another former Virginia standout, Tony Meola.

Adding to the local flavor of this years inductee class will be former Washington Warthogs (indoor) player and D.C. native, Desmond Armstrong.

Full U.S. Soccer Press Release:

Claudio Reyna, Tony Meola, Desmond Armstrong and Tony DiCicco will be Inducted

as the Class of 2012 Ahead of Men's National Team Match Against Brazil

CHICAGO (April 17, 2012) - Former U.S. Men's National Team stars Claudio Reyna, Tony Meola and Desmond Armstrong and former U.S. Women's National Team head coach Tony DiCicco will be inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame on May 30 in Landover, Md.

The National Soccer Hall of Fame and U.S. Soccer will hold Induction 2012 presented by Eurosport at FedExField ahead of the U.S. Men's National Team game against Brazil. The exact start of the Induction will be determined in the near future. Following the invite-only ceremony, new inductees, Hall of Fame members and invited guests will attend a reception. Current Hall of Famers, as well as the Class of 2012 inductees, will be recognized on the field before kickoff.

Both men elected on the player ballot made a significant contribution to the Men's National Team and had successful club careers both overseas and in the USA. Reyna, a four-time World Cup veteran, had an impressive career in Europe, playing for Bayer Leverkusen, Wolfsburg, Rangers, Sunderland and Manchester City. Meola holds second place all-time for most U.S. goalkeeper appearances and was a mainstay in Major League Soccer, earning MVP and Goalkeeper of the Year awards with the Kansas City Wizards.

Armstrong, elected on the veteran ballot, was a stellar defender for the U.S. Men. During an eight-year National Team career, he competed in the 1990 World Cup and the 1988 Olympic Games.

DiCicco was elected on the builder ballot and was recognized for his record-breaking tenure with the Women's National Team, posting 103 victories in 119 matches and leading the squad to the FIFA Women's World Cup title at home in 1999.

The U.S. MNT will kick off against five-time World Cup winner Brazil at 8 p.m. ET. More than 40,000 tickets have been sold for the match, which will be broadcast live on ESPN2, ESPN3 and Univision. The match will be the team's last friendly in the U.S. before it begins 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying.

Established in 1950, the National Soccer Hall of Fame is dedicated to the sport of soccer in the United States by celebrating its history, preserving its legacy, inspiring its youth and honoring its heroes for generations to come.