Feb 16, 2012

Local teams Hotspur, Royals, Piranhas 2012 PDL Season Schedule Released

Three Virginia teams that particpate in the Premier Developmental League can now start  planning for their 2012 season matchups. The USL released the 2012 PDL Schedule today. The Fredericksburg Hotspur, Northern Virginia Royals, and Virginia Beach Piranhas will play in the South Atlantic Division of the PDL in 2012.

2012 PDL Schedule

TAMPA, Fla. – United Soccer Leagues released the 2012 divisional alignment and schedule for the PDL today, with the 584-game regular season getting underway on April 22 as LA Misioneros FC faces the Fresno Fuego.
Thirteen new teams have joined the PDL for 2012, including the Austin Aztex, Baltimore Bohemians, Boston Victory, CFC Azul, Chicago Inferno, FC Tucson, Ocala Stampede, Palmetto FC Bantams, Panama City Beach Pirates, Texas Dutch Lions, Southern West Virginia King’s Warriors, VSI Tampa Flames and Worcester Hydra.

Several teams have announced name changes including the Sounders FC U23 (Tacoma Tide), El Paso Patriots (Chivas El Paso Patriots), Fraser Valley Mariners (Abbotsford Mariners), LA Misioneros FC (Los Angeles Legends), West Texas Sockers (West Texas United Sockers) and Seacoast United Phantoms (New Hampshire Phantoms).

The PDL will feature 73 teams in four geographic conferences and nine divisions. The Eastern Conference features three divisions while the Southern, Central and Western Conferences feature two divisions each.  PDL clubs will play 16-game schedules in 2012, eight home and eight away. The defending PDL champion Kitsap Pumas open their 2012 campaign on Friday, May 4, when they travel to play the Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-23 at Swangard Stadium.